Using a 12V DC power supply

TheBloke

Hi guys

My DNA 200 arrived this morning.  Very exciting.  Or it would be if I had anything to wire it to :)   My battery and wires turn up tomorrow.

I am an absolute novice at mod making so I want to keep this as simple as possible.  It will be a desk installation, probably not even in a box.  I just want it up and running for testing and experimentation.  As soon as I can buy a professional mod with the chip in, I will (I tried to order the Opus 200 but Opus won't ship outside the US :( )

So although I bought a 3s battery pack, I'm wondering if a power supply might be even easier.  No worrying about balance plugs and I'll never have to re-charge it.  

I've seen the FAQ talking about the issue with the balance charger port when using a power supply - needing to fool it with 3 resistors.  But it also says I can probably just disable cell monitoring in EScribe?  

So my question is, will that work and is that all there is to it?  Buy a 12V / 25A / 300W power supply (like this one, photo below), wire positive and negative up to the battery inputs on the DNA 200, then in EScribe, disable cell monitoring?

Or will I have to install the balance connector and do this resistor thing, in which case I think I'll just forget the idea and go for the battery instead :)

Thanks!

[71lbGnI%2BA1L] 

Hmm.  The FAQ states:

The easiest way around that is set up a three resistor divider to generate "cell" voltages for the balancer to see. You can also disable battery monitoring entirely, which is for fixed installations only, but is useful if you're building the board into a research smoking machine, or something like that.

It says "you can also disable battery monitoring entirely", which I took to mean that was an alternative to using the three resistors?  But maybe it just means, having used the resistors, you can then disable cell monitoring (but why bother at that point?)

Oh thanks Mike, that sounds promising.