New to temp control

HarryHunt

Hi, I’m new to temp control. I have a 316L spaced single coil that ohms out to 0.37 ohms. I like to vape this at around 35 Watts. My question is, how do I convert this to temperature and how do I know what to set the power at to get a similar vape? If I have the wrong forum, could you point me in the right direction. Thanks in advance. 

Without using a mod with TC there are just too many variables involved to be able to determine temperature simply from ohms and watts.  Specific atomizer, coil diameter, wrap spacing, air flow, wick efficiency and a bunch of other minor variables come in to play.  All those factors can vary from build to build which make it even more difficult to say what the real coil temperature may be.

Can I ask what mod you are using it on, given the forums I presume it's using the 75C chip and if it's properly calibrated then all I do is crank the watts up full , set the profile to 316l and start the temp off at 360 F and raise it up until I get the vape I want ...usually around the 420F to 440F for my .45 spaced coils . That way the coils won't be lacking in watts to get there .

Yes it’s the 75c. I’m just wondering if by turning up the watts to max that the board will be working inefficiently by trying to control the set temp with such a high input wattage. I just find it strange that there are no guidelines for this anywhere. My common sense tells me to set the watts around what I would normally vape at in wattage mode. 

57 minutes ago, HarryHunt said:

Yes it’s the 75c. I’m just wondering if by turning up the watts to max that the board will be working inefficiently by trying to control the set temp with such a high input wattage. I just find it strange that there are no guidelines for this anywhere. My common sense tells me to set the watts around what I would normally vape at in wattage mode.