eeek!! Help Installing Escribe with Chromebook

Jentz9517 said:

What needs to be downloaded to get escribe up and running with an asus c201 chromebook with an arm processor? Can anyone with experience please list steps? I have limited knowledge and just got this laptop today.. Much Appreciated

Hey, I just sent you a PM. In order to DL Escribe, all you need to do is go to the Evolvapor.com (evolv's homepage) and find the link to download the escribe software. Once you do that, install the software on to your chrome book and it will provide you with a shortcut icon on your desktop that once clicked will open up the program...and that's it. Plug in your DNA 200 and Vape on! It's fairly simple...hope that works! *Also, I suggest you use Google Chrome as a web browser, mainly for downloading and saving CSV (from Steam Engine) files to customize your device. For some reason, Internet Explorer will not save the CSV files.

That is an ARM style cpu, I seriously doubt you are going to get escribe to run on a chromebook.

I don't think you are going to find any Windows virtual machine software for it, as it runs chromium.  Also being a ARM processor throws another wrench in the works.

Escribe needs Windows(and MAC in the future), or some type of virtual machine, but even with virtual machines there are issues ..

If it was done on a chromebook , it was done by installing some flavor of linux on it and then installing a virtual machine ...

The problem is going to be your CPU, the ARM CPU does not use the x86 instruction set, so some HEAVY emulation would have to occur in the virtual machine.

Some Chromebooks have x86 style cpus so it was most likely one of them.

Jentz9517 said:

Yeah he was running an acer c720 - so I guess I'd better just return this ?

(Yeah, his was an Intel-based one.)

If you want to run EScribe, yes, I'd return it.