Ti Temp. Protection lighting my cotton on fire

Sticky907

Hey everybody,

So i'm new to temp control and I've got to be doing something wrong because it is literally lighting my cotton on fire. I am using Ti as I am allergic to Nickel. I used the SSV Ti curve that was provided by SSV in another thread in this forum. I attempted to vape at 50 watts and 350 degree Fahrenheit. I took a couple of hits and it was HOT and tasted like burnt cotton.

Figured it might be the coils because I made some contact coils with the .5 SSV Ti wire. So i switched to a spaced coil and same thing. Does anyone know what I am doing wrong?  

I would first check to make sure cold atty resistance is stable and repeatable using atomizer analyzer. If cold resistance is read as higher than what it actually is, temps can go to the stratosphere. Start checking connections, including on the atty, screws tight, etc., 510 clean, good ground between 510 and board . . . Another thing that will light up an atomizer is TCR too high. Make sure the correct (or at least sane if there's no way to verify for the specific wire) normalized values appear on the profile screen for the atomizer. Is the wire you are using SSV? Their curve is different from Ti grade 1. If you're using Ti grade 1, the TCR curve may be too high. Use the steam engine curve. Another thought is possibly high static resistance of the atomizer. Attys with an intermediate connection (like replaceable coil assembly) or adjustable pin seem to be the worst on this. You may have to adjust the TCR to compensate. What atty are you using?

Soulseek, I am definitely new to all of this but I understand how TCR works. 

Like I said I am using the curve that SSV provided for their .5mm wire and all I have tried using so far is SSV .5mm wire. I will begin ensuring that the cold resistance is stable like you mentioned. I am currently using a Tobeco Velocity clone.