Therion 166 TC mode issue and mod resistance of VT75 nano

noah

I'm new to TC mode and so far, didn't really had any luck.
I'm having an issue with my Therion 166 when I'm using 316L, 26g, 2.5mm 9wraps, 0.51ohm, micro coil.

Below are the steps of how I proceeded on Merlin Mini Single coil mode.

0. 316L profile from steam. preheat 0, watt 100, 420F (also tried dropping wattage to 50w)
1. 2.5mm, 9wraps, 26g 316L, Micro coil(to prevent spit back when I vape)
2. 3.0 or less voltage(about 12-15W) to check hot spot. -> let the coil cool down to room temp.
3. wicking -> eliquid 

After all the set up, before assembling my tank, I test fired to get rid of cotton smell.
Instantly, coil gets red, temperature goes over 4000F(screen was reading temp close to 4890 to be exact) and makes fire.

At first, I thought it was a issue with my set up so I tried making about 4 different coils, same ohm and trying it on my VT75 nano. On Nano, it didn't burn and did cut the power at certain temp but after 1 day usage, coil was burned. Set up: no preheat, 55w setting.

I'm not sure what the problem is. For VT75 Nano, i don't have copper screw, so I researched and set the MOD Resistance as 0.013. 

I spent more to try and get great TC experience but so far, my cheap eleaf pico 75w is doing much better job....

Please help...

Therion: Can you post a proper Printscreen of your Mod tab for starters

VT75 nano: Can you post a proper Printscreen of your Mod tab for starters, and your mod resistance seems way high.

For your mod resistance a conservative value (lower) is better than higher.

Mod Resistance setting - giz method
Here's a link for a quick and dirty method. https://evolvapor.forumchitchat.com/post?id=7522239&trail=75

Read from post 72 onwards. OR, here's the short version.

Mod resistance calibration (giz method)

A coil will work, but the Test is best run with about a 4in. - 6in. piece of tc wire across an RDA build decks posts.
In Escribe (mod tab), set Mod Resistance to 0.