Question - DNA 75/200/250 - Why?

greenj22

Hey all,
I was thinking just now; why doesn't Evolv simply make ONE board capable of running on a single cell or a 2S/3S configuration?  I'm not an electrical engineer, but obviously the DNA 250 can run at 75 watts, at 166/167 watts, 200, and 250.  These boards are all the same footprint essentially (the balance tap being the notable difference) so basically any mod that incorporates a DNA 75 "frame"/layout, could fit a 250 (minus the 75C's b/c of the screen)...which leads me to wonder why....why 2-3 different boards?  With all of the R&D/tech built into these chips, I can't imagine it being difficult or costly to simply produce one board capable of running on a single cell or multiple cells.  Almost like a 250 can be run at 167....why not have Escribe firmware to allow that board to run a single cell at 75 watts? 

This now leads me to my final thought, which I would rather be completely wrong about: Do the 75, 200, 250 boards all exist simply as a way to sell more boards?  Is this to have a larger catalog of products?  Why sell three different boards when one board could do it all? I would also think this could cut manufacturing costs, and streamline mass production, marketing, and the sales cycle - all allowing a higher gross profit.

What makes more sense - genuinely?  I know the 75 is marketed as a more affordable chip, but would they not be able to play with the sale price of one board capable of it all?  I can't see the justification of charging more for one board that can run all cell configurations.  I think the 200/250 price point is the ceiling, but that's just me.  Is it more cost-effective and better for the consumer to produce and sell 2-3 boards....or who's best interest is it in?

EDIT:  I suppose the balance tap adds in, what, about 4 mm?  That is a nice little size difference to have with a DNA 75 vs a 250....but still!