SS in TC mode - my experiences

dl12345

I've been vaping SS coils in TC mode exclusively for the last two years or so. I've tried pretty much every wire on the market: SS316, SS316L, SS317L, SS304 and SS430. I've tried spaced and non-spaced coils as well and until a few months ago my best results were coming from SS304 spaced coils. The SS304 profile works pretty well and I find the wire itself quite resilient. It doesn't tarnish in the same way as the SS316 and gives me better results (surprisingly) than SS430, which is much harder to work with.

I'd previously tried claptons (non-spaced) in TC mode and had a particularly poor result. I usually find I need to replace my single wire coil every 6 or 7 days. Note that I don't dry burn my coils - I clean them with a toothbrush and diswashing liquid, which dislodges most of the gunk.

A few months ago I decided I would try claptons again. This time I thought I would make my own clapton wire, which I did. I used a 27AWG SS304 core and a 32AWG SS430 wrap. I then made spaced clapton coils, about 4 and a half wraps, giving me somewhere around .25 ohms in a dual coil atomizer. I've been using them in my Geekvape Peerless RDTA. Of course I needed to bump up the pre-heat and power significantly for the claptons. I'm running a 100w preheat with punch of 10 for 2 secs for and power is 55w. Once it gets up to the correct temperature, escribe shows that the mod pushes about 25w through constantly, although I needed the higher power settings to get up to operating temperature quickly enough.