Temp Control and Kanthal

djvanlandingham

Hey forum! Hows everybody doing. I have but one quick question. I have been vaping for a few years now and Im really looking at a DIY box mod with the 200 chip. So why do you need a different wire for temp control? Why ss or nickel or ti? I really like what Im reading about temp control and would like to move into that type of vaping but would like to understand it a little more. Anybody got a quick primer on why Kanthal is not used in temp control? Thanks!

Howdy. Sure, so...

Some wire predictably changes resistance as its temperature increases (and decreases).

It's this changing resistance, that's measured many times a second, that allows the chip to throttle the energy hitting the coil so that it can match a desired temperature.

Wire that has a large change in its resistance as its temperature changes -- a higher TCR (Temperature Coefficient of Resistance) -- is good wire for this job.

The base resistance of the wire also matters (the higher the value the more accurate TC precision is), but let's ignore that right now to keep it simple.

The complexity of the math that describes the change (linear, curved, s-curved, etc.) also factors in, but we'll ignore this, too. 

Kanthal has a very low TCR; its resistance doesn't change much as it gets hotter or cooler. This is why it's a poor TC wire.

Not only would the chip need to be extraordinarily sensitive to detect the changes, but the rest of the electrical connections in the mod and atomizer would need to be in a near laboratory setting; gold plated connection, etc.

So, kanthal is at the bottom of the TC precision list.

Nickel has a very high TCR, but also very low base resistance, so it's a great TC wire, but actually not the best theoretical wire for TC.

Titanium is in the sweet spot of having a high TCR and also fairly high base resistance and some consider it the best for TC.